JoeT

Airport Express to enhance signal

8 posts in this topic

I am considering purchasing an Airport Express to replace the wireless signal currently being output from my Verizon FiOS router. The main reason for doing this is because of a crumby Dell computer two floors up that my father uses...it constantly has the wireless signal drop off. Then, the computer links to a nearby network and not my own. I know the Wireless N of the Airport Express will not really provide any speed boast to the G adapter found in that computer, but will it enhance the signal so that that computer maintains a stronger signal?

Also, I have the FiOS package that gives me 35/35 network speed (although I don't really get that in real world), will the Airport Express affect that speed, or it is purely an enhancement in range. The Macs I have in the basement will possess Wireless N capability, so will I notice any difference in wireless signal.

I am by no means an expert in networking but here are my thoughts -

A) It sounds to me like the problem is either in the network adapter in the Dell and/or building structure preventing the signal from getting to the Dell. Have you tried putting one of your Macs in the same space as the Dell to see if the signal drop is machine-specific? If it's machine-specific, you may want to replace the network adapter in the Dell with one capable of N speed and range.

B) It's my understanding that if you have any G device in the network, that will be the maximum throughput for the entire network regardless of the individual machine capabilities