Jump to content

teacher24_70

Members
  • Content count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About teacher24_70

  • Rank
    New Mac Geek
  1. I currently use my MacBook from the admin account on a regular basis. I know that Adam has mentioned the danger of this in his podcast several times before. I vaguely remember him explaining how to create a new admin account and turn the old one into a regular user account, but I can't seem to track down which podcast it was and the specific directions to do so. Can someone point me in the right direction? Either a forum post (couldn't find one with search) or the original podcast that he gave the step-by-step instructions. Thanks.
  2. teacher24_70

    Syncing Keynote files

    My syncing program "File Synchronization" program checks the contents of my flashdrive with the backup folder on my hard-drive. Obviously, it's job is to only sync those things that have changed. However, I've noticed that it doesn't always handle Keynote files the way I think it should. Let's say that I have a Keynote file on my hard drive (in the Flashdrive's backup folder) and an identical copy on the flashdrive itself. If I open the Keynote and without changing anything hit "Save", the version on the Flashdrive now has a newer saved date. I've discovered the Keynote files are saved as "packages". I've manually compared the contents of the hard-drive version of the KN file/package to the contents of the flashdrive version of the KN file/package. Every single item (over 500 of them) is absolutely identical--name, size, modification date, etc. Therefore, there is no need for the synchronization program to have to copy every single item of the package over to the other location. However, even though the contents of the package are identical, the package/box itself has a new modification time, so it thinks that the entire thing needs backed up again. I would think that if all of the contents of the two files/package are identical (since no changes were made other than pressing the save button), that the File Synchronization program should NOT force the synchronization process to copy every item over to replace the identical contents. I hope that this makes sense--and I know that I repeated myself by saying the same thing in several different ways, but I want to make sure all aspects of the situation are explained in detail. If anyone has a work-around for this, I would love to hear it. Or if it's just this particular program's wacky way of synchronizing, please let me know of another program that would attack this situation differently.
×