jchiar

New mac question!

Hi,

Switcher here! I just bought my first mac.. Thanks alot to Adam, as ive been listending to his podcasts for 6 months prior to the switch tething on my descision:)

Any way, my first question is regarding to the ilife suite (itunes and iphoto specifically).

I see there is an option to copy music to the itunes library and copy photos to the iphoto library when adding to the library.

Any reason for this?

whats the pro's and cons?

Thanks a bunch !

Pros, keeps photos/music organized and in a central place.

Cons, could take up more space by having multiple copies of stuff unless you remove the originals, the organization structure (for iphoto anyway) can be abit wonky when in finder.

I don't use iphoto so I can't help you there. For itunes if you choose keep my music organized under the advanced tab in the preferences it will copy everything you add to itunes in to your user folder under music.

Hi,

Switcher here! I just bought my first mac.. Thanks alot to Adam, as ive been listending to his podcasts for 6 months prior to the switch tething on my descision:)

Any way, my first question is regarding to the ilife suite (itunes and iphoto specifically).

I see there is an option to copy music to the itunes library and copy photos to the iphoto library when adding to the library.

Any reason for this?

whats the pro's and cons?

Thanks a bunch !

The way it works is like this. Lets say you a big folder full of music. If you import (drag into iTunes) your music, iTunes keeps it organized for you, and you can delete that big folder you had. That way you only have one copy of your music. But dont worry about trying to go through your iTunes music library folder in the finder to find songs, instead browse through iTunes and just drag a song file onto the desktop. This will copy the song to your desktop. you could then send it to someone, then delete it. your song is always safe in the iTunes music folder.