ramtha

Native Instruments Guitar Rig 2

gr1.jpg

Guitar Rig is from a long line of excellent virtual instrument plug-ins, by the good people at Native Instruments. It recreates in software hundreds of different hardware amplifiers, speaker cabinets and effects processors used by bass players and electric guitarists.

As a musician I am constantly writing down ideas and recording. Until recently though, when recording guitars, it was still necessary to mic up an amplifier to really get the sound right.

Over the years I've used many stomp boxes and effects processors which have attempted to replace this often time consuming and cumbersome, not to mention noisy, process. Some of them have had a unique sound of their own, but have never really truly replaced the sheer tone of using actual, physical amps, speakers and microphones.

Guitar rig comes as close to doing that as anything I've seen in all my years as a session player and touring musician. From simple configurations, such as a Fender Twin into a 2 x 10 cabinet, to complex tap delay effects and split signal routing - everything Guitar rig is designed to do, it makes a more than pleasing, often sublime attempt.

There are hundreds of preset sounds to choose from which rarely need anything more than minor tweaks here and there to really get the sound you want. Everything from Steve Vai type super screamer distortions to subtle Larry Carlton tube warmth clean tones.

You can pick up and move the position of any individual bit of gear in the rack just like manually handling the actual hardware. So if you want to put three Vox AC 30 heads in serial with each other into a 4 x 10 cabinet, that Angus Young / Brian May 'British clank' is as easy as pointing, clicking, dragging and dropping the graphically well drawn control panels into your desired configuration.

gr2.jpg