Secular Humorist

Manual Backup

I've been "manualy" backing up my mac for the last few months by simply dragging the "users" folder onto an external drive, and once the external drive starts to become full, I delete the oldest one and do the same thing again. The "users" folder contains the things that are most important to me: all my music, photos, and movies.

My question is this: Aside from everthing under the "users" folder, is there anything critical that I'm missing? I'm relatively new to Macintosh, maybe this should have been in the "switchers" forum. Anyway, I don't really mind losing my apps because I can always re-install them. And looking on the bright side, having my Mac crash would be a good excuse to upgrade to the new version of iLife. I also use MS Office, but again - I have the original discs so re-installing isn't a problem.

Any comments would be appreceated.

Thanks

The ~/Library folder (that is, the Library folder within your home folder) contains countless number of important files such as your address book, ical calendars, and so on.

The ~/Library folder (that is, the Library folder within your home folder) contains countless number of important files such as your address book, ical calendars, and so on.

... But since that's already under the Users's folder, it's already backed up. My only hope is that if I overwrite it with a backup, nothing bad will happen :(

At this moment, I can only think of these additional items:

• Keychains from /Library/Keychains
  • Various preferences from /Library/Preferences

Edited by haivu