Sign in to follow this  
Jay Parlar

Make Garageband use both processors

Anyone know why Garageband only ever uses one of the processors in the Intel machines?

My musician friend just got a Mac Mini to play around with Garageband, and after adding a ton of tracks and effects, he gets the dreaded error message from Garageband saying too much was going on.

So we try the song again, but this time I run ActivityMonitor at the same time. What a surprise I got when I saw that only one of the processors was being pegged for Garageband, despite 18 threads running.

Am I missing something here? I've never programmed against Cocoa before, but I would assume that if you had multiple threads, the OS would spread them out over the multiple processors. It seems that Garageband is putting ALL of the audio processing into just one thread. Either that, or I have no understanding of how threads run on OS X (which is just as likely).

Jay P.

I really have no idea about garageband using only one processor versus both at the same time. However, I believe that error message you mentioned actually has to do with how much ram you are using. I tend to go nuts with tracks and even with 2gb of ram I'll get that error when I get to around 15 tracks of real instruments (although it will still play the song after a few "hiccups.")

Edited by firewalk13

I really have no idea about garageband using only one processor versus both at the same time. However, I believe that error message you mentioned actually has to do with how much ram you are using. I tend to go nuts with tracks and even with 2gb of ram I'll get that error when I get to around 15 tracks of real instruments (although it will still play the song after a few "hiccups.")

I checked the RAM usage as well, he had tons free (at least 400 megs). The one processor core was completely pegged though, which is why I'd love for it to use both.