~Numb~

connecting a pc and a mac via ethernet cable (how to?) or wirelessly via RDC (how to?)

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in the world of networking for mac... Currently i'm facing a problem...

I've a iBook G4 1.2GHz and a window laptop running Windows XP media center edition.

both of them are connected to the internet via a Netgear router wirelessly.

My problem is i need to transfer large files to and fro both laptops. and using a portable hardisk to do it is so so so troublesome. :(

Thus i'm exploring the option of connecting both if them via a ethernet cable and do direct networking.

But i have totally no idea how to go about doing it.

Could any kind soul out there give me a step by step tutorial on do it???

Another option i read about is via Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection Client for Mac.

So how does this option work???

Is it easier then the wired solution above??

Anybody have any experience on it?

Could you teach me (step by step too) how to do it too??? :P

Thanks for your time...

If your Netgear wireless router has Ethernet ports in the back, you can plug both computers in and they will be in the same network. I imagine direct Ethernet cable works, as long as:

1. You use a cross-over cable to connect them. I do not think regular cable works
  2. You manually configure the IP address on both computers. For example, the OS X computer can be 10.0.0.1 and the XP computer can be 10.0.0.2

If your Netgear wireless router has Ethernet ports in the back, you can plug both computers in and they will be in the same network. I imagine direct Ethernet cable works, as long as:
  1. You use a cross-over cable to connect them. I do not think regular cable works
  2. You manually configure the IP address on both computers. For example, the OS X computer can be 10.0.0.1 and the XP computer can be 10.0.0.2

Can't do the direct Ethernet cable method, cos the router is in the living room, while both laptops are in my room..