SteveJobs -- In training

Learn Mac Programming

Hey everybody, I decided that this summer I want to learn to build Mac applications (in Cocoa, using Xcode, Inteface builder, etc) so that when Leopard comes, I can start developing with the new 'unified' UI.

Right now i have next to no experience with C or Objective-C. However, i would say I am an advanced beginner in PHP (i can write simple logins w/ mysql and session variables management). I have successfully built an AppleScript App that just tells you whether or not you entered a certain value into a textbox, but thats it. I've also poked around the Dev. tools and the sample code, but the code just looks super confusing to me right now.

So, can anybody point out some good books/websites to begin with? I want to learn C first then Cocoa/Objective-C.

I found these books, if anyone can give me feedback on them:

-> Programming in C (3rd Edition)

-> Programming in Objective-C

THanks!

~Steve~

:D

Well, you can learn the syntax of the language in one summer, but learning how to build (develop) applications efficiently takes a little longer. Just read this web article by Peter Norvig:

Teach Yourself Programming in Ten Years