Neil

Should I get a Wacom Tablet?

I really have always like the idea of using a tablet. I have never used one before. Is it worth buying one? I don't really do a lot of graphics, but I would like to do some basic stuff like use Inkwell recognize my handwriting, sign documents, control the mouse with it, etc.

I think I want to get the Wacom Graphire4 6x8 Pen Tablet Bluetooth version. Does anyone else have a bluetooth tablet? Is there any lag? Is the Graphire Bluetooth as advanced as the Graphire4 line? Should I wait for a new model.I see that it was released on 4/15/05, that seems a somewhat old, should I wait for a new model?. Amazon has it for $207, that seems somewhat reasonable, for a reputable source.

I really like the Wacom Bamboo, but the writing area seems small on that. And it isn't sold in the US yet, and it isn't bluetooth.

Edited by Neil

i dont have the answer to all your questions but my friend recently bought a lower class Wacom Graphics Tablet and as usual it may take a while to get used to.. but i've seen some of his art and its preeeety good.

But... since you arent such a graphical user i wouldnt suggest spending so much money on it... but hey.. thats my opinion..

i think thats all the input i can make.. hope it helps!

Art / design isn't the only reason to use a tablet. They're handy for many things.

I have the Intuos 3 and it's a great tablet. It's big but not too big. It has the pen, a BT mouse and it has some nifty buttons on the sides that can be programmed for many tasks / key commands or for scrolling -- nice to have when surfing or reading a long document.

Personally, I find the small tablets to be a pain. You may not. If possible you should try to demo one at a store or better, if you know someone who has one. I hated the first one I bought because of the small size.

Finally, no, there is no lag. You can adjust the sensitivity to boot.