designboy

To Laptop Or Not To Laptop

Just wanting some feedback.

I have thought about getting a Macbook, Macbook Pro, Powerbook, etc.

If I get one, which one should I get? If I get one, how would I use it or what would I do with a laptop?

Here's my current set up:

I have a PowerMac G5 dual 1.8. 2 gb RAM. Runs good, no problems. Get's daily use, 2 internal HD, 2 external. 2 for data, 2 for backup.

I am a photographer and graphic artist. I have a CafePress shop, I do a small amount of both freelance photography and graphics. I thought about using a DVD player for viewing photos on the fly while out shooting photos. I would rather have a laptop so I could just copy them directly. Besides that, what else would I do with the laptop? When I travel (rare) I wish I had a laptop to stay in touch with all my online duties. (blog, cafepress, forums, flickr, site stats, podcasts, etc.)

Bottom line: which laptop and what uses. Just want ideas and feedback. If I bought new I could get the Apple Credit loan or whatever it's called. If I buy used I would have to save up for a while.

Thanks

:)

I am also a photographer/designer and I find that I get a lot more done, faster, since I switched to a laptop. I can work whenever I want wherever I want so I do. The laptop I would say you want is a 15" macbook pro. The macbook screen is just to small and the 17" isn't portable enough. As far as what you do with it mostly you will just replace your current machine with something portable. The only thing I can think of you might specifically do with it that you didn't previously do [aside from work on the couch or wherever] is shoot tethered. It's really nice shooting tethered and if possible I would suggest doing so whenever practical.

For now I would wait on buying anything though. The longer you wait the better computer you get for the money. Since your system now is currently fine stick with it and just save up. When the time comes buy a refurbished machine direct from apple.