Sign in to follow this  
Kosmos

What to do with a perfectly good G5?

Greetings! I am in need of some advice. I currently use a iMac G5 desktop and I have found that it doesn’t fit my lifestyle, by any means. I switched from a Dell Laptop to this desktop a couple years ago, and have since learned that I need the portability of a laptop. I have decided to buy a laptop, but what should I do with this desktop? I don't have a lot of cash (I'm a college student) but I don't feel comfortable selling it. Also, I don't have a need for two computers. Perhaps plug it into my HDTV and use it to watch iTunes? Even though I prefer not to sell it, I have thought about putting it on Craigslist for $700. This all sounds like a tangent, but I would like to get some of your thoughts on this topic. Below are the specks on my G5. Thank you in advance for any advice you may have.

Machine Name: iMac G5

Machine Model: PowerMac8,2

CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)

Number Of CPUs: 1

CPU Speed: 1.8 GHz

L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB

Memory: 1.5 GB

Bus Speed: 600 MHz

Being a poor student myself (well, poor ex-student - now I have the fun of paying all my debts off), I'd sell it. If you did manage to get $700 for it (which I doubt since you can get the new iMac for $1199 - you're probably looking more at $500-$600) you'd be most of the way there to getting a macbook. I wish I'd got a macbook instead of my macbook pro for uni, it would have been the perfect machine. Although now I'd glad I went for the macbook pro now I've started working, but that's a different topic entirely.

@Graham I will trade my MacBook for your pro any day of the week :P

One thing you could try to do is make your iMac a web server and try to sell space on it. That way you can keep it, and make some money.

Craigslist or eBay. I just upgraded from an G5 iMac to one of the new ones and that's where my G5 is going.