simeonlj

Please Help - Cant open ports on Belkin 54g router for Acquisition

Hi,

Some help would be most appreciated.

I have a Belkin 54g F5D7632-4 wireless router and Im running an iMac Intel on this.

Im new to this torrent lark, but would like to increase the speed of my downloads as they are painfully slow!

I've gone into the Firewall>Virtual Servers, entered the IP address of my computer and added both 6346 and 6881 each on seperate rows, but the same for both LAN and Public ports. Is this right?

I've checked TCP&UDP, then checked Enable and clicked Set.

Ive then also gone into Mac OS X 'Sharing' then Firewall and added a new port, named it Acquisition and added the numbers seperated by a comma on each line again.

So, all traffic should be being let through both ports, right? Wrong! Sadly, when I use http://www.yougetsignal.com/ it tells me that port 6881 is open but that port 6346 is closed :-/

What's going on?

Any help with fixing this would be most appreciated.

Can I get by downloading just through this port 6881?

Also, which Torrent download site should I be using? BitTorrent, Transmission, Azareus or Acquisition or any better ones?!

Many Thanks,

Simeon.

I've used Acquisition for a long time and have never messed with my port configurations. Might be why I can never get Azureus to work at all.

Hopefully, some of the real network savvy folks here can help you.

Bittorrent by default uses ports 6881 thru 6889. You should set up port forwarding and open the Mac firewall for all 9 of those, just as you did for 6881 already.

Many Bittorrent users change the port numbers they use to avoid simplistic ISP traffic blocks. It's in your client apps Preferences. Change the app, firewall, and router port forwarding to the same range, whatever you pick.