Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Jangles

Time Machine selected backup

Recommended Posts

How can I add or remove files in which time machine backs up?

 

I care more for my documents and media than an entire harddrive image. I know that I can go into TM and delete specific files already backed up, but can I manage my files before they are backed up? perhaps tell TM to never backup this folder? or the system files?

Edited by Jangles

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yep, its in the time machine preferences in system preferences. i'm not in front of my mac now, but i believe there is an options button and you can add folders to not back up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
yep, its in the time machine preferences in system preferences. i'm not in front of my mac now, but i believe there is an options button and you can add folders to not back up.

 

You can actually add files/folders to exclude, as well as add volumes to exclude. I personally recommend excluding all your external volumes that are regularly mounted. I have also excluded my Parallels disk image file because it runs about 8GB and each time I open it shows up as a change and then TimeMachine updates.

 

Hope this helps!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

×