Purchasing advice Mac Pro or iMac?

Hi i would appreciate your thoughts :)

So i have finally saved up enough money to buy a shiny new mac but im stuck on which one to buy. I have enough for a Mac pro but would it be overkill? Right now i have a 1.42ghz iBook G4 512mb of ram running 10.5.1. At the moment im very interested in mastering CS3, Final cut express, Aperture/Lightroom, and possibly Logic. As you might have have guessed i cant run any of these programs very well on my iBook, ive tried CS2 on my iBook but it really struggled. So basically im just learning these programs. Would the iMac be able to handle these programs down the road? or would you suggest the Mac Pro.

Keep in mind im only 16, So this kind of cash does not come easy and im looking for something that will last more than 5 years.

Thanks

-Justin

If you want it to last more the 5 years then I'd go with the Mac Pro since it's very easy to upgrade it (with the iMac you'd be struggling to change anything other than the memory), and it will be capable of running the latest and greatest further down the road since it can take a stupid amount of ram and hd's.

If you're overstating how long you need it to last, then an iMac will easily run these apps for the next few years at least.

If you want it to last more the 5 years then I'd go with the Mac Pro since it's very easy to upgrade it (with the iMac you'd be struggling to change anything other than the memory), and it will be capable of running the latest and greatest further down the road since it can take a stupid amount of ram and hd's.

If you're overstating how long you need it to last, then an iMac will easily run these apps for the next few years at least.