Sign in to follow this  
rmsmits

VNC software suggestions

I'm looking into VNC software and have a bunch of ????'s. I've never used VNC before, but I'm thinking about using it for helping distant family members with their Macs and possibly for work purposes (PC's). Is this a tricky thing to set up? (I'm an advanced user, but networking stuff can sometimes get more geeky than I'm comfortable with).

Will I have to set up my relatives mac's first and then install the client on my end? What do people recommend? Finally, would it allow me to log into a PC and run I.E.? I need certain "features" of IE for work and my office will soon be getting rid of Citrix which I currently use to remotely log in.

Thanks in advance.

The vnc server is actually built into OS X. It's what the screen sharing is based on in Leopard, but it's exists in Tiger too (called remote desktop in tiger). If you're wanting to connect to a PC, you'll need to install a VNC server on the PC I used to use RealVNC (I think it was called that) - haven't used VNC on windows since I got an Intel Mac.

To connect, you have the choice of using the built in screen sharing (if you're on leopard) by choosing connect to server and typing in vnc://the-ip-address-you-want-to-connect-to-here

If you're on Tiger (or on Leopard and don't like the built in screen sharing like me) there's also chicken of the VNC that can be used as a VNC client.

The only difficult thing to set up usually is the port forwarding and the NAT.

The vnc server is actually built into OS X. It's what the screen sharing is based on in Leopard, but it's exists in Tiger too (called remote desktop in tiger).