joshr

Mozy

12 posts in this topic

I see they have recently released a v1.0 for the mac. Anyone using it since the update that can comment on it? I had heard that the old mac client was no good and wondered if it's usable now.

I see they have recently released a v1.0 for the mac. Anyone using it since the update that can comment on it? I had heard that the old mac client was no good and wondered if it's usable now.

I've been using Mozy for Mac for about 5 months now I think and have used it to back up over 45GB of data.

When it works, it is great but since the release of 1.0 the service itself has become very unreliable - all kinds of server errors which have meant that I've only been able to upload a few dozens of MB a day (with the result that I have over 8 GB of data waiting to upload). I've contacted support and they admit there is a problem which they are working on.

Today my iMac died on me (I suspect a PSU failure). My Mozy backup WOULD have been up to date, IF it worked reliably. I still have an up to date Time Machine backup, but I don't trust backups in the same physical location.

If I didn't already have a large investment in Mozy (it takes a LONG time to upload 45GB of data!), I would probably stop paying for it and wouldn't recommend other people use it until they have sorted their problems out.

These kinds of problems just shouldn't happen on systems that people rely on for keeping their data safe.

I use chronosync to back up my home folder to the stupid amount of space I get with dreamhost (something like 250Gb - more than I'll ever need for websites). I run it weekly since it takes quite a while to sort through what's already on the server although the actual backing up is reasonable. It can usually get through a week's worth of data overnight.