major sixth

Please explain sharing apps between unique login IDs

I "switched" (from Windoze) back in December 2007. Since that time, I've ramped up

my knowledge of mac quickly (no surprise, I've been a unix sysadmin for 15 years).

Recently, when I was going to teach a class from my mac, by projecting the

screen, I thought I would create a new user account. I wanted a "fresh" clean

desktop and more importantly did not want to have to cleanup my normal

desktop, etc.

Creating the new account was easy enough, but once I logged in, none of the

installed applications are there. The Apps folder had just the basics.

Now I know the apps are on the disk, but why doesn't a new user have

access to the installed apps? Is there a quick way to sym-link the apps

from my old account to the new account?

I hate to use this comparison, but on Windoze, once you install the

application, usually any other account also can execute the program.

It seems wasteful to have to install multiple copies of say Adium or

Firefox for each iteration of login user account.

Please help me understand!

Thanks!