Tanner

Refutb Macbook! Good or Bad?

Hi I was looking on Apple's website under the refurbished products and I am really thinking about getting a white plastic Macbook but, I need to know is it safe? Will it work like new?

Thanks

I have no personal experience using the Apple Refurbished Store, but Adam does talk highly about it a lot on the Podcast. I would definitely trust something directly from Apple over some other "Refurbished Store" (not saying that there are not any other legit stores out there, just that if I had the choice I would go for the Apple Store).

Just my input.

Apple Geek

Buying something from the apple refurb store is every bit as good as a brand new piece of hardware from Apple. It will have exactly the same warranty and will look and feel brand new in every way. The only difference is that the packaging is usually different and you can't build it to order.

I haven't bought a new machine since my G4 iMac when they were first introduced. My last three purchases were refurbs (2 from Apple and one from Small Dog). No problems to speak of.

I can't remember if Adam said it or someone else, but, to some extent refurbs might actually be better than new because they have been tested and certified at this end of the manufacturing process rather than just coming out of the factory.

I bought a refurb Apple TV last year and it arrived in the original packaging. Recently I bought a 3rd Gen iPod nano and it came in different packaging, but is in pristine condition and came with the stickers. I wouldn't hesitate to buy a refurb computer and there are some good deals right now (in North America, anyway).