Sign in to follow this  
Wacky

Automator

Ok I'm new to Automator and wondering how to create a simple action.

I want the computer to take a screen shot and demand a password when I open up certain folders (Applications folder, Documents folder)

Any help?

Thanks.

I want the computer to automatically take a screen shot every time I open up certain folders. Is there a way to do that in automator? I have figured out how to do the screenshot, but it just takes it of automator and not the folder when I open it.

The best the screenshot action will do is allow you to select the window for the screenshot, but you would still need to call the action manually. If I understand correctly, you want the workflow to be launched only when certain folders are opened. As far as I know, that would require you to "flag" each desired folder somehow and the workflow would have to be running in the background and be able to know when a folder with that flag was opened. Unless I've missed something, automator doesn't have that functionality yet.

Can you tell us why you want a picture of the contents of these folders when they are opened in addition to a password protecting them? Maybe there is another solution to your need.

Edited by Dolphbucs

You can attach your Automator script to a folder by using Folder Actions.

First, save the Automator script as "Plug-in" for "Folder Actions". (It'll get dumped somewhere in your Library/Workflows folder.)

Next, in Finder, right-click (control-click) on a folder in in the contextual pull-down find "Enable Folder Actions". Then, right-click (control-click) again and select Attach Folder Action... and in the dialog click the left "+" and add the folder you want, then select the folder and click the right "+" and add the automator script you created.