Sign in to follow this  
Ruahrc

Time Capsule- no SPI firewall!?

I'm planning to get a new mac soon as my old PBG4 is getting to be too slow for what I need. Anyways I was thinking maybe at the same time I woudl pick up a Time Capsule. I recently started playing with Time Machine using a FW800 external drive to back up my PBG4 (I used to use Synk to do a full system backup prior to this) and like its transparentness. I still do Synk backups of selected folders (i.e. documents, music, etc) for an added layer of security.

Anyways, the thing that really surprises me is that time Capsule (and the Airport Extreme actually) lack 2 of the most basic features found on even the cheapest routers...

1) no SPI firewall

2) lack of web browser interface

The SPI firewall concerns me because I feel that for what is supposed to be a high qualtiy feature packed base station, the lack of SPI firewall is surprising. Especially when my $30 Netgear router has one? "OS X is secure enough" you may say, and it may be true, but again why skimp on such a basic function? And also I have a windows XP SP3 PC on the network as well. I don't run antivirus or other garbage like that on it because I only use it for very light browsing and figure the hardware firewall plus the windows firewall are protecting me. I've been using Windows XP for years and have never had a problem.

The lack of a web-based browser interface may not be as bad, but certainly makes it more difficult to manage the Airport Express from the Windows PC that is on my network. Why force me to use my Mac and it's software utility to manage the router when again even the cheapest piece of junk router has web browser based configuration? Doesn't make sense if you ask me.

Anyhow, I'm asking if you think either of these is a big enough deal to worry about. Remember, I will have 1-2 Macs and 1 Windows XP computer on the network.