Jack LaCorte

Western Digital RAID drives

I"m not sure if all dual-drive WD drives are like this across the board, but just as an FYI for the community, if you have one of those drives that use two 500GB drives to give you either a 1TB drive or a mirrored 500GB drive, go with the mirrored. I ran into an issue where the drive becomes unusable if a file is written across both drives. (I couldn't even reformat it and neither could my manager as I work in IT). Of course there is no way to keep the drive from writing the file across both physical drives since the drive recognizes it as one volume. I had to have it replaced by WD and am now using it as a 500GB RAID. I also just had a single-drive WD MyBook die on me as well with extremely slow write speed and am waiting for that replacement drive. Starting to question to Western Digital brand.

I actually owned one of those drive a couple years back and also had troubles with it. It would randomly disconnect from my Mac and I had to cycle the power to get it mounted again. Also it was exceptionally loud, and drove me nuts! I use Seagate external drives now, and haven't looked back.

I've had nothing but trouble with WD externals (strangely their bare sata drives have been solid). We use G-Techs and Seagates now.