Sign in to follow this  
Garvice

Best External Hard Drive

Hello Fellow Mac Users,

I hope that it's okay to start a new thread about this. I'm new to this discussion board, but it has already helped me with so many little things.smile.gif

Anyway, my question is--I'm looking for an external hard drive that will help me back up my Macbook computer. Any suggestions? Previously, I was using a 2007 Western Digital Passport, but it suddenly stopped working. According to the Best Buy Geek Squad, it's too damaged...I would like something that would work well with Time Machine; a backup drive that wouldn't require me to backup the files by selecting them individually or in sets.

I've heard some good things about the G-Technology 500GB Mobile USB, but I don't know much about external hard drives. Is this worth the money?

Thanks in Advance,

Garvice2010

Edited by Garvice

Ok, the type of hard drive doesn't determine how easy the backup is. It's the software. As you're talking about time capsule (you do mean the little white box you buy that has a hard drive in rather than the software called time machine, right?), you should be all set to use time machine.

If you're talking about time machine itself, I tend to buy seagate drives at the moment. They've got 1tb ones for not much money at all.

[edit to fix a dumb typo]

Edited by Graham

Thanks, for the correction there--

I should've typed Time Machine. I'll look into Seagate!

Thanks,

Garvice2010

Ok, the type of hard drive doesn't determine how easy the backup is. It's the software. As you're talking about time capsule (you do mean the little white box you buy that has a hard drive in rather than the software called time machine, right?), you should be all se to use time machine.

If you're talking about time machine itself, I tend to buy seagate drives at the moment. They've got 1tb ones for not much money at all.

Edited by Garvice