Sign in to follow this  
James

Mac OS X Mail not deleting GMail?

Anyone had any issues with Mac OS X not deleting stuff out of GMail? I keep having spam and junk mail coming back despite it having been marked as spam, moved to spam folder, and erasing spam folder. Similar problem with mail I want to delete from GMail in mail - it just won't die. Both appear to go but if I go back later, it will have resurrected itself. I've even deleted the mail in a browser in Gmail and it appears to have gone from the web based version but I just can't seem to get rid of it inside mail. Anyone got any suggestions? I'm new to Mail, had been using MS Entourage till the start of this week for several years.

CYa!

James.

I use Gmail through Mail too. I have the same problem too with it - with my Gmail account it for some reason creates a collapsable section that is separate from the main inboxes, with the different sections of my account (Inbox, Sent Mail, Trash, Spam etc) all in there. However, my other TalkTalk email account does not do this for some reason.

With my Gmail account in Mail, I delete the mail out of the inbox. It goes from the web-based version but stays in the duplicated inbox part in the collapsable section for some reason. It's all very confusing.

I am sorry I can't help you but I replied just to say that I have the same problem.

Here is a screenshot of my Mail window to show the collapsable section which has appeared in the sidebar and won't go away - http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/8278/mailwindow.png

:)

I've got 2 of my Gmail accounts running through Mail as well. I don't know if I can help you with the "not deleting" problem, but there is a way to get some of those extra mailboxes to not show up.

Note: This is a Google Labs product so just be warned BUT I've never, ever had this cause a problem.