Sign in to follow this  
yaschan

Removing dust from Mac Pro

I noticed my Mac Pro is getting a lot of dust inside of the chassis.

I never realized there is so much dust in my house. And you know, I do actually clean my house..

So I open the machine monthly and use bulb blower to get rid of the dust in the heat sink and the fan of the video card.

I get kind of nervous about the dust. Is there a way this can damage the machine, other than by affecting cooling?

in my experience, and I only preface this because I've been answering this question for 25 years, that disturbing the dust often leads to other problems. here's the story. my computer store had a service contract for a bunch of computer located around the country. every 6 months we were required to show up to "maintenance" them. for one of the runs there were 8 computers that had to be touched. after tech would leave one site to go to the next the site they last left would call in with failures. won't boot, won't read, "Y" key failed. in this case it was 8 failures in a row that always happened the next day. what we found was the compressed air was pushing the dust bunnies into places that dust bunnies shouldn't go. once we discovered that the problem was "Dust Off" we stopped using it for this job and the computers didn't break immediately after we left.

usually people use a can of compressed air that is blown full open until all the dust is gone. as you know from physics class that as compressed air expands it cools. the longer the valve is open the colder the air will get. it doesn't take too long for it to get to sub freezing. and it's this very cold air that pulls surface mount components from the circuit board.