Sign in to follow this  
work and turn

Hard Drive, Drobo or NAS ?

Been a while but once again I find myself back here looking for answers.

I have a home set up of, 1 G5 tower for work (Im a designer), an imac in the bedroom which we use with plex to watch stuff and a boxee box hooked up to my TV in the lounge which I mainly use to watch my backup copies of films and TV shows.

My work mac has 3 harddrives, 1 x 500gb for the system, apps etc and 2 x 1.5tb drives for storing my work and making an automatic backup.

The imac has a 500gb harddrive, but my girlfriend leaves her work on the 1tb hardrive thats attached and then makes a very suspect backup of the essential to another mini USB harddrive.

Lastly the boxee box reads its content off of a lacie hardrive, its 1tb and backups by itself (has 2 1tb drives configured as raid setup).

So Im running out of space on the boxee box HD and Im going to need a minimum 2tb as a replacement, however it would be good to let the imac read its media content off of the same HD too (also be good if my girlfriend could copy files for backup there too). I initially thought about getting a drobo but Ive seen a number of horror stories online which make me question paying such a high premium. So I thought maybe a NAS would be a good idea but I have zero experience with them so wanted peoples opinion.

I want a 4 bay HD and looking on Amazon I see the QNAP drives get good reviews, some come with itunes server which I don't really understand, is that needed ? QNAP TS-412 is £280.15 but the QNAP TS-410 is £253.23 which is almost the same price, confusing ?!?

What should I be looking for, are they easy to set up, any recommendations knowing that its for an imac and the boxee box and are these loud as I dont want the starship enterprise in my lounge ???

Thanks for any help in advance

Jim

• Like 1

there are a few key thing to look for: