Sign in to follow this  
PSA

Anyone have the new iMac?

Hi All.

Well, next week I plan on getting the new 20" iMac and was wondering if anyone here has one yet and can share thier experience with it. The screen looks huge and I hear the G5 2.1ghz is pretty darned fast. I am coming from a 2.0ghz XEON PC.

With this iMac purchase I will OFFICIALLY be switching from my PC at home. I have been using a PC since my old 286 many many years ago. A little nervous about the switch and learning a bunch of new keyboard shortcuts, etc.. I live and die by control-c (copy) and control-d (paste) but I am eager to get on the awesome new hardware and software Apple offers.

Thanks.

I live and die by control-c (copy) and control-d (paste)

That is what apple-c and apple-v are for. Enjoy your Mac! I have an older revision iMac G5 17inch, and I just love it!

PSA,

I also am a long time PC user turned switcher. I also lived by the keyboard shortcuts but now am very used to using the more intuatively placed Apple keyboard shortcuts and working on Windows seems a nightmare without (and often with) a mouse. Command is your friend, believe me. Be sure to check your keyboard preferances for hints and you will soon get the idea and find many more yourself.

I don't personally have an iMac, only a PowerBook but I have used iMacs (new), Power Macs (new) and iBooks and have to say they are all very impressive. I would very much like a new iMac or Power Mac, but am afraid that the PowerBook suits my working needs much more and I am not one to be using two computers if I don't need to (been there, done that, found it a nightmare the amount of files I create and delete on a daily basis). I can certainly say the iMac screen is a nice one and is big, but seems bigger. In addition I can be testament to the 30" and dual 30" Cinema Display setups; both very nice also.

I am sure you will love the machine and will soon come to love the white. Have a great time with your machine.