Sign in to follow this  
The Professor

Some Old Guy Switches to Mac

I've been working in the computer industry since 1978, when I was upgrading Teletype machines to 300 bit per second modems.

People were amazed that you could send data over a phone wire faster than they could type.

I started using home computers with the Atari 8 bit, then moved on to the Atari ST series. By 1986 I was hosting a BBS on an Atari.

Younger readers can Google 'BBS' for an historical reference.

Eventually I moved to that Other Operating System with great reluctance just because all other avenues seemed to dead-end.

I hated that Other Operating System from day one, I mean that I hated it with a passion. I hated it for its very poor quality, its complete lack of any kind of a security model, and for the fact that a TCP/IP stack was only added long after it was already not fit for connection to a network. And the rebooting, the constant rebooting, the change a freakin' option and then the rebooting. Hateses it!

I tried to escape with various Linux distributions, and used Mandrake, SuSE, Xandros and Dead Rat for a while, but my dependence on high end applications kept bringing me back to that Other Operating System. Mind you that Linux is an excellent OS, but the important applications that I use professionally just were not available under Linux. Reluctantly I kept sending my dollars to Redmond.

Finally in May of this year my partner gave me a Mac Mini as a birthday gift. I was thrilled after my first half hour. Not only is everything I need to use available for OS X, in many cases the applications I use now are far superior to the ones I used under that Other Operating System. For example, I think that Safari is the best web browser I've used, although Firefox is certainly very good.