Sign in to follow this  
MacCast

Mac "Virus" is really more a Trojan

MacCast    80

Well I never ever said I was a security expert and that was clear when I told you about the Mac "Virus". Upon further reading I have come to understand that it is more a Trojan than a virus. If you want to know all the details about this thing here is the link to the thread with the complete deconstruction:

http://www.ambrosiasw.com/forums/index.php...howtopic=102379

Here is some info I found that expains the differences between the types of "Malware":

“Malware” is the term used to describe any and all malicious software, including viruses, Trojan horse programs, and worms.

Even though "virus" has become a generic term to refer to all types of computer malware, it actually only applies to one specific type of malicious code/file. A computer virus does the same thing a biological virus does, for the most part. It infects a “host” (a file, boot sector, etc.) and then looks for ways to spread. The major things setting it apart from other malware are that it (1) replicates itself and (2) infects other files instead of existing as a standalone file. Viruses can be very harmful (e.g., erasing or damaging files) or they can be relatively benign (e.g., displaying an obscene message to the user on a given date).

Worms do not attach themselves to a host program or file the way a virus does; worms reside in active memory and stand alone with no need for a host. A worm does replicate itself like a virus, but it doesn’t do so by altering files. Instead, it replicates over computer networks.