Sign in to follow this  
shamrog12

Upgrade to DUAL 1.6GHz Sonnet Processor or buy Intel Mini?

I have a DUAL 867MHz PowerPC G4 with 1.6GB RAM right now and I was thinking about ordering that service from OWC where I could upgrade to DUAL 1.6GHZ for $500. I think they use Sonnet processors. I was wondering if that upgrade would be better for me than buying an Intel Mini with upgraded RAM.

I guess one other I'm thinking about is whether software will work well with the Sonnet processor? Should I embrace the Intel? Is a DUAL PowerPC going to be faster than the Intel Mini?

Cost is a concern for me also so I don't want to buy a DUAL G5 or anything.

Looking for some opinions. Thanks.

If the costs were going to be nearly the same, I think I'd go for the Core Mini. You'd be grabbing a lot more future usability.

On the other hand I have no experience at all w/Mac processor upgrades, but just as a hunch I suspect you're less likely to have compatibility problems in 2 or 3 years by going the mac Mini route.

On the downside, the Mini does use 2.5" notebook drives, these are typically slower than the 3.5" drives used in most desktop computers. You could use an exernal hard drive with a Mini, but that's going to be extra $$$.

I would go for the processor upgrade.

I also wonder about the dual processor capabilities of the PowerPC being superior to a single Intel chip BUT I have read about how the Intel chip architecture is like a dual processor because there are two chips on one processor or something? I don't want the computer to lag when I have my iSight on, PhotoShop open, iTunes playing, and whatever else. If there was an Intel G5 tower out that would help me make the decision. I fear that a mini won't be able to handle the workload... plus I can't stick two drives inside a mini like I can the PowerPC tower. Dilemmas dilemmas.