davejacko

Aiport Network Questions

Hi All,

I want to set up a small wireless network in my office for 3 macs alll with airport cards. Do i need a Airport base station/airport express?

We already get our internet wirelessly from another sourse in the office below us so i am wondering if we can contunue to receive the same wirelesss internet while using a airport base station to network our macs or does the internet have to come through the base station?

As you can see i am new to all this wireless network stuff,

Help would be appreciated,

Dave (in Dublin)

You don't have your internet connection coming through the base station in order to use it network computers. However I think for what you are trying to do you would be best served by an Airport Express. I am not sure if you can connect a base station to the other network and even if you could I don't see any reason to use the base station rather than an express.

If your office is rather small and there is one computer switched on all the time, you can use the in-built airport card of that one computer to create a network, then let the other 2 computers join it. Also you can share that one computer's internet (see Sharing in Preferences).

I use this setup at my home after my airport base station when bust, my iMac G5 is connected to the cable modem, it has internet sharing through its inbuilt airport card switched on. My laptops (both macs) are able to pick it up the signal and have a good range (medium sized UK house).

If your office is rather small and there is one computer switched on all the time, you can use the in-built airport card of that one computer to create a network, then let the other 2 computers join it. Also you can share that one computer's internet (see Sharing in Preferences).